potato and leek soup with bacon

Did I tell you I was in a soup mood? I wasn’t kidding! For the past few weeks I’ve made the carrot and sweet potato soup twice, a roasted red pepper and tomato soup (which was much better than the other one I made)  and now this potato and leek soup with bacon. I have to admit I was a bit worried about this soup because I’m not actually super keen on leek. But since it’s the texture rather than the flavour I don’t love, I figured it should be ok.

I’ve been feeling a bit rough lately as well – my back and shoulders ache, and not just in an exercise pain way. I feel like it’s difficult to do certain exercises – well more difficult – and I get an ache behind my right shoulder blade when I sit at my desk at work.

I also haven’t been that great with what I’ve been eating lately (a few too many sweets and buns) so I’m trying to go down a slightly healthier route now that we’re in the last few days before the Christmas food starts popping up everywhere, hehe!

Anyway, this soup turned out really nice, warming and hearty and perfect with some toasted bread. The recommendation is to serve it with some crispy fried bacon – which was lovely – but it’s just as nice with just some bread.


20161121_210115 (2).jpg

Ingredients

3 baking potatoes

400g leek

1 onion

3 cloves of garlic

3 rashers of streaky bacon (in the soup)

1.4 litres stock

140 ml cream

butter

salt

pepper


20161122_213957.jpg

Chop up your ingredients.

Melt butter in a pot. Throw in your onion, garlic and bacon and cook until browned/golden.

Add your potatoes and leek and cook for 5 minutes.

Add your stock – I haven’t specified which stock here because the recipe says vegetable but I used 900 ml chicken and 500 ml vegetable to get a fuller flavour – and being to boil. Leave for 20 minutes.

Blitz the soup with a hand mixer or in a blender until smooth.

Add the cream and season with salt and pepper.

Serve with crispy bacon rashers.

Leave a Reply

