strassburgare

So as you read in my cinnamon biscuits post yesterday, these didn’t turn out like they were supposed to. And they didn’t survive the trip to London. But hey – at least they tasted great!

20160919_215931-2

Next time I guess I’ll make sure that the butter is even softer than it was this time. And there has to be a next time, because now I’ve realised how easy it is to make that dough I’m going to try and make one of my favourite biscuits that I always used to share with my mum when I was little. It’s made using a Viennese dough and splitting it into two – keeping one natural and flavouring the other with cocoa powder. One vanilla strand and one chocolate strand are then piped next to each other so that they attach when they bake. You then sandwich together two of these combined biscuits using melted chocolate – making sure that the vanilla and chocolate are on opposite sides on the top and bottom, so that if you split it in half where it’s attached when baking, you have one of each. I know that if I brought that home to my mum she’d be so impressed!

 


20160919_215935-2

Ingredients

100g butter

50 ml icing sugar

1 tbsp vanilla sugar

125 ml flour

100 ml potato flour or corn starch


Take the butter out of the fridge a while before you want to make these, so that it’s really, really soft.

Cream butter, icing sugar and vanilla sugar to an even dough.

Add flour and potato flour and whisk – preferably with an electric whisk. Then use a piping bag to pipe your preferred shape.

Bake at 175 degrees Celsius for about 10 minutes.

While your biscuits are cooling, melt the chocolate over a bain marie. Dip the biscuits and place on a baking sheet overnight to set.


If you wanted to decorate the biscuits with jag, you would instead make a dent in your biscuit and put a small bit of firm jam in it before you bake them.

/t

Leave a Reply

