‘singapore’ chili stir fry

The week when I bought the Blue Dragon satay sauce, I also bought the ingredients to make this dish. However, after the disappointment with the satay, I wasn’t quite so keen to take on another stir-fry, albeit one I had no expectations of, so I used the beef I’d bought to make the Kelda Texas Chili Stew (that I’m yet to post my review about). But that meant that I had the other ingredients lying around at home. So last week I decided to make this stir-fry, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

I didn’t have much experience of hoisin sauce other than having a hoisin duck pancake once, which I didn’t really like (I thought it was a bit too sweet, and it probably didn’t help that the duck was dry) so I didn’t quite know what to expect. What I got was a dark, sticky – albeit sweet – stir-fry with bursts of chili, garlic, and ginger.

I think that it was maybe a little too sweet – more so when reheated in the microwave than when coming straight out of the work – but that can easily be adjusted by reducing the amount of hoisin sauce and adding more soy. I also think that adding another red chili would have made it pop more, but if you’re not a fan of spice, one will be enough.


20160929_131015 (2).jpg

Ingredients (4 portions)

500g thinly cut beef strips

250g broccoli

1-2 red chili peppers

2-3 cloves of garlic (dependent on size)

1 cm fresh ginger

200 ml hoisin sauce

1-2 tbsp soy sauce

oil

rice


Cut up the garlic and chili into small pieces, and grate the ginger. Cut the broccoli into smaller florets and cut your beef into strips.

Brown the beef in oil, then set aside as you stir-fry the broccoli for 3-4 minutes.

Re-add the beef together with the garlic, chili, and ginger.

Then add the hoisin sauce and soy sauce and leave to cook for a little bit longer, until the sauce is heated through.

Serve with rice (or maybe noodles, but Jasmine rice was really good with this).


Such a quick recipe that is easy to adjust to your liking as well.

I bought what in Sweden is called lövbiff (cube steak or minute steak) to make this dish, and then cut it into strips. Because the beef has been tenderised to create a thinner piece of meat and allow for a shorter cooking time, I thought that cut worked out really well in this dish. Sometimes when I do a stir-fry I can feel that the beef can get a little chewy from first being cooked on its own and then cooked again for a bit with the vegetables and the sauce, but this cut didn’t.

/t

Leave a Reply

