granny smith smoothie (aka ‘green lemonade’)

I need to get a lot better at writing these posts when I make the food, because I’m almost forgetting what they were like before coming back to write! But that’s a luxury problem I have because I’ve been making so many ‘new’ smoothies – and one that is doomed to die out once I have to start repeating myself.

Anyway, I saw this recipe on Ica’s website and they called it ‘Green lemonade’. I thought that sounded refreshing and nice, and wanted to try something else apple-centred after the slight disappointment of the apple and cinnamon smoothie (picking the wrong colour apple and using too much cinnamon, if you remember).

I cut the original recipe in half and removed the celery. I don’t like celery, but I know that many green smoothies use it, so I will at some point crawl to the altar and use it. Just not this time.


20160912_073433 (2).JPG

Ingredients (1 portion)

1.5 Granny Smith apples (ca 150g)

100g mango

0.5 lemon

1 cm fresh ginger


I think it turned out really nice and it was very refreshing – but I would maybe add a little more lemon, to get that lemonadey feeling they obviously want. I can imagine it being perfect on a sunny summer day though, laying on the beach with a good book in your other hand.

/t

Leave a Reply

