strawberry and kiwi smoothie

I’ve never really thought about it before, but over the summer the supply of kiwis in supermarkets seems to go down. I was talking to a colleague about what was in my smoothie, and she mentioned that she thought it might be kiwi season – so I Googled it.

According to a Swedish website I found, kiwi season is essentially from October to March. But everywhere I go at the moment seems to have an offer on kiwis – so I wonder if that means that the season has started early or, which I guess is more likely, they’re trying to clear the stock before the new arrivals?

Either way, after my strawberry-mango ‘epiphany’ I had another one: strawberry and kiwi. That is another flavour combination favourite (the list is long my friends) and since I had four kiwis in the fridge that needed to be eaten before I went to London for the weekend, I thought it was a good idea. Because I also had a tub of quark needing to be used up, I decided to make it as a quark-based smoothie.


20160921_072348 (2).JPGIngredients (1 portion)

150g strawberries

2 kiwis

100g quark

100ml milk


20160921_072828 (2).JPGI used 150g strawberries because that was all I had, and two kiwis (because I had four). By the size of my kiwis I would guess that this meant that they weighed roughly similar to the strawberries – which meant that the primary flavour ended up being kiwi.

If you want more of a strawberry-prominent smoothie, I would recommend using 200g strawberries, or maybe one or one and a half kiwis.

/t

 

Leave a Reply

