review: satay sauce

When I lived in London I lived near Westfield Stratford, and they have a great food court with food from many different countries and cultures.

One of the restaurants at the food court is a Chinese one called Lotus Leaf, and they do a really good chicken satay. It’s not like the satay I was used to before – you know the one with the plain chicken skewers and rice, and then the sauce either on the side for dipping or poured over – which I guess could be the Thai version? Instead this one is served with the rice on a plate and the satay sauce in a bowl combined with chicken, peppers, onion, and carrots. The sauce itself also tastes slightly different – as if there’s more to it than just a peanut sauce.

For a while now I’ve been really craving this type of chicken satay, so I decided to try and make it at home. Being somewhat lazy and somewhat cheap, i.e. not wanting to go out and buy all the necessary ingredients, I decided to try a jar version. I was stood at the supermarket trying to decide between the Blue Dragon and Santa Maria, but Santa Maria looked more like the dipping version so I went Blue Dragon.

I decided to make mine with chicken, broccoli, and peppers, and serve with Jasmine rice.


20160918_200737 (2).jpgIngredients (3-4 portions)

400g chicken

250g broccoli

2 peppers

1 jar Blue Dragon Satay Cooking Sauce


Stir-fry the chicken until cooked through. Set aside and stir-fry the broccoli and peppers for 3-4 minutes. Throw everything back in the wok and pour over the sauce. Leave to simmer for a few minutes, then serve with rice.


20160919_121359 (2).jpgFirst of all, I don’t think this sauce is made for covering anything other than chicken. The reason I’m saying that is that it claims to be four portions of sauce in the jar, but the sauce didn’t quite cover everything.

Second, it didn’t taste anything like the Lotus Leaf’s satay – which was a huge disappointment. Once I got over the disappointment of the small amount of sauce and the taste-mismatch, it did taste quite nice. It just wasn’t what I wanted.

I think the sauce was a little too sweet, and I wonder if mixing the Blue Dragon sauce with the Santa Maria sauce would make it less so. It kind of feels like a mix between a peanut sauce and a sweet chili sauce.

I also think that if you want to serve it with rice, you should double the sauce or reduce the chicken and vegetables. However, I stir-fried it with noodles for dinner one day, and that was much better in terms of ‘sauce-coverage’.

20160919_181409 (2).JPG

All in all, it’s an ok sauce, but I don’t think I’d use it again – unless I mix it with a jar of the Santa Maria just to try.

/t

Leave a Reply

