review: kelda’s balsamico & roast garlic stew base

One day when I was in the supermarket just buying some little things for when S was coming, I came across something called grytbaser (stew bases) from Kelda. They were on offer because of a short sell-by date, so they were less than half price but still had over a week left of the use-by date. So I bought two; balsamico and roast garlic (a creamy sauce to be served with chicken) and Texas chili (quite self-explanatory, no?).

I decided to ‘listen’ to the back of the jar and pair the sauce with chicken and mushrooms. I then chose to serve it with mashed potatoes, because I really wanted mash and a creamy sauce.


20160916_191536 (2).jpg

Ingredients (3 portions)

300g chicken

250g mushrooms

1 jar Kelda Balsamico and Roast Garlic


Fry the chicken until cooked through. Set aside. Fry the mushrooms in some butter until they’re the colour and texture you want them. Re-add the chicken and pour over the sauce. Leave to simmer for a few minutes, then serve with mashed potatoes, rice, or pasta. (I did mash the first two days and pasta the third.)


20160920_173716 (2).JPG

And let me tell you – it was fantastic! It tasted so good, was quick and easy, and really hit the spot. If I hadn’t put mushrooms in it, I’m sure S would have loved it too.

Until now I was a bit sad that it was so nice though, because even though it’s not overly expensive, I think it could be a bit of an unnecessary cost. But, drumroll, now that I was writing this post up for you, I Googled the sauce to see if I could find the contents – and Arla has the contents and some of the quantities on their website!

Their ingredients read as follows:

250 ml milk

50 ml water

50 ml cream

1.75 tbsp balsamic vinegar

14g chopped onions

1.5 tbsp cornflour

7g roast garlic

Thyme

Vegetable stock

Chicken stock

Salt

Sugar

Black pepper

So all I need to do is to try and figure out how much stock is used and then I could make it myself!

/t

Leave a Reply

