pork tenderloin goulash-ish stew

I’ve been feeling quite autumny lately, even though the weather has been really nice. It’s a bit chilly in the mornings and evenings, but the days are usually sunny and quite warm. But the cold and wet spell we had a few weeks ago has made me feel like it should be time for knitted jumpers and ankle boots.

That’s also spread to my cooking, and last week I made this goulash-ish stew. The reason I’m calling it goulash-ish is that it’s very simple, but the original recipe from BBC Good Food calls it a pork goulash.I like simple stews though – I don’t want to have to buy 20 ingredients to make just one dish.

20160911_204240-2
Before simmering down.

I made a really nice goulash once, but then (like with the blueberry and lemon cake) I didn’t save the recipe. The last time I tried making a ‘goulash-in-a-dash’, as it was called, it was too tomatoy. But this one felt a lot better.

The original recipe was a stew with dumplings, but I didn’t want to make that, so I put potatoes in mine instead. That way you don’t have to serve it with anything else.


20160911_220139-2

Ingredients (4 portions)

600g pork tenderloin

500g potatoes

400g tinned, chopped tomatoes

400g passata

250 ml beef stock

2 peppers

2 cloves of garlic

2 tbsp paprika

oil

salt

pepper

bay leaves


20160912_120428-2

Start by browning the pork loin in some oil. Set aside.

Chop the garlic (and if you like onion you can add an onion too) and brown in oil. Throw in the peppers and pork loin, and add the paprika. Pour over the chopped tomatoes, passata, and beef stock.

Add the potatoes – I usually quarter mine – and season with salt and pepper. Then throw in the bay leaves.

Leave to simmer for around 20-30 minutes to reduce the liquid.


It isn’t harder than that! Very simple, with a lot of ingredients you will possibly already have at home.

I got three large servings out of this – but as you can see my plate was overflowing! I served it with some crème fraîche and a nice slice of bread, and enjoyed my autumn-feeling. Bring on the cinnamon buns and hot chocolate!

/t

 

One thought on “pork tenderloin goulash-ish stew

Leave a Reply

