scones

How do you pronounce it? Scownes or scohnes (i.e. short or long o)? I think I probably change whether I’m speaking Swedish or English!

Swedish scones are a different story from English scones. They have a slightly different texture (not quite as dense – a bit more spongey according to S) and are usually made in larger rounds that you score to create quarters – a bit like share-and-tear bread. We also eat them differently, because we don’t have clotted cream. Often with jam and cream cheese, or jam and regular cheese, or jam and butter, or butter and cheese.

I’ve always loved scones, but never made English ones. I like them – though they’re denser than our ones – but where they were pretty cheap in the shops in London I usually made Swedish scones if I baked them myself since I couldn’t buy those. When it was my mum’s birthday though, S was saying we should have an afternoon tea fika, which made me think I should try my hand at English scones. I mean how hard could it be?

20160827_142841 (2)

I found this recipe for ‘classic scones’ at BBC Good Food and felt that was a good start. If anyone should know how to make scones it should be the BBC, right? It also gave me the DIY buttermilk tip that I used in the blueberry and lemon cake (before I saw that that recipe also had a tip at the bottom).

Personally I think they turned out great, and between my mum’s birthday and posting this, I’ve already made them again. S thought the first batch was a little too spongey though, but I thought they were perfect(!).

The only thing I would say is to make sure you have a cookie cutter. I didn’t the first time and thought I could just use a glass, but the dull cut made them rise wonky when baking. No effect on the taste or texture though – just the appearance.

This recipe – being English – uses self-raising flour. In Sweden (as far as I’m aware) self-raising flour is not available in the supermarkets, but you can easily ‘make your own’. All you need to do is add baking powder to plain flour – 2 teaspoons per 150g flour.

It also says to warm the milk in the microwave for a few seconds until warm. I don’t have a microwave, so I left mine cold and didn’t have any problems.


20160911_174213 (2).jpg
I didn’t have egg to glaze the second time I made them, so they don’t have that lovely shiny top.

Ingredients (approx. 12)

350g self-raising flour (or 350g plain flour + 23.5g (4.7 tsp) baking powder)

0.25 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

85g butter

3 tbsp caster sugar

175ml milk

2 tsp vanilla sugar (or 1 tsp essence)

A squeeze of lemon juice

1 beaten egg (to glaze)


Heat the milk in the microwave for a few seconds until warm. If you’re using vanilla essence, add that and a squeeze of lemon juice to it and set aside. (If you’re using vanilla sugar, don’t add it to the milk.)

Mix together flour, salt, baking powder and vanilla sugar.

Add the butter and mix until you have a fine crumb, then add sugar.

Make a well or hole in the flour mix and pour in the milk mix. Tip the dough onto a floured surface and fold over 2-3 times until it’s smoother. Pat into a round that’s about 3-4 cm high. (I think mine was a bit smaller than this, but they turned out great and high anyway.)

Cut out four scones with a 5 cm cookie-cutter, then pat into another round and repeat as many times as you can. I got 12 scones and an ‘end product’ of the last scraps.

Glaze with the beaten egg and bake at 220 degrees Celsius for about 10 minutes.

Best enjoyed warm!

/t

Leave a Reply

