raspberry and avocado smoothie

Now here is a smoothie in which avocado does what it’s supposed to do in a smoothie. Like I said after my failure with the green smoothie with avocado, spinach, and mango, I wasn’t going to let myself be discouraged from making another avocado smoothie. And though I have to admit I was a bit skeptical when I saw the ingredients in the cup before blending them, I’m glad I didn’t.

I think one of the key things I did with this smoothie that I didn’t do with either the strawberry and avocado or the green ones was that I picked an avocado that felt perfectly ripe and kept it in the fridge until this morning. Last time I picked two avocados that were slightly under-ripe, and they then didn’t ripen enough to blend into the smoothie the way it should. In these cases, I think it’s probably better to go (slightly) over-ripe than under-ripe.

The texture of this smoothie was so creamy; it was smooth as silk (which, as far as I’m aware, you can say in both English and Swedish). Here, like in the strawberry and avocado smoothie, the avocado didn’t necessarily add any overwhelming flavours to the mix, it just made a thick, creaminess of a smoothie which I thought from the look of the ingredients would be quite runny and maybe not that pleasant. But I was so wrong.


20160824_070457 (2).JPGIngredients (1 portion)

100 ml raspberries

2 oranges (large) (juice)

0.5 avocado

2 tsp honey


20160824_071349 (2).JPGFrom 100 ml raspberries I got 55g and 2 oranges (relatively large) gives me just under 250 ml freshly squeezed juice. The recipe calls for 1 tablespoon honey, but I didn’t quite want that much, so I used 2 teaspoons instead (1 tbsp = 3 tsp). I don’t really know whether I think that the honey is even necessary, and next time I might either skip it completely or just add 1 teaspoon.

The above stats resulted in a 272 kcal smoothie, the creaminess of which made it feel like much more than its (roughly) 300 ml size.

/t

Leave a Reply

