veal curry with broccoli

My recipe collection on Ica has a recipe for veal meatballs in a plum cream sauce, which I’m dying to try. For this week I already had a lot of leftovers, and one four portion meal planned, when I was browsing through, and though the veal meatballs were calling out to me, I couldn’t quite gather up the enthusiasm and energy I knew it would take to make it.

So instead I got the ingredients for this meal – a veal mince curry. It called for a lot less prep work (just mince, broccoli, Thai curry sauce in a jar, and rice – and I already had two of those) and seemed like an easier dish to divide into portions and bring to work for lunch. But I have to admit I was a bit disappointed. I don’t know if it’s because I should have used more sauce (I used what the recipe called for) or if I should have bought a different sauce, but I didn’t think it tasted of much. When you say ‘curry’ you have a certain spice explosion in mind (or at least the gentle creamy taste of a Korma) but this was just plain and, to be honest, a bit boring.

If I made it again I would probably replace the veal with beef and I would definitely get another curry sauce. One that says ‘hot’ and looks like it has a lot of spices in it.


20160823_180940 (2).JPGIngredients (4 portions)

500g veal mince

1 jar Thai curry sauce (490g)

250g broccoli

Vegetable oil

Salt and pepper

Rice to serve


20160823_180933 (2).JPGCook the rice according to the instructions.

I used frozen broccoli because that’s what I had at home, so I started by heating 1 tablespoon of oil in a wok and stir-frying the broccoli until hot. If you use fresh broccoli, cut into florets and boil or steam until tender.

Then brown the mince with some oil, salt, and pepper in a wok (or large frying pan) and once done, add the Thai curry sauce and leave to simmer for a few minutes.

Throw in the broccoli florets with the mince and sauce, mix well, and serve with rice.


For lunch at work I have kept the curry and the rice separate, but since I don’t have a microwave at home and needed to reheat it in the wok, I mixed it up for dinner. I actually think mixing it up was a little bit nicer taste-wise, though it doesn’t make for a very enticing picture.

/t

Leave a Reply

