peanut butter smoothie

I found this smoothie recipe on Jamie Oliver’s website of all places, but I’m the first one to admit that I used way too much peanut butter.

The evening before I made this I had a real craving for something unhealthy, but I fought it off. In the morning I was supposed to make the mango and cherry smoothie that will make an appearance later, but realised that I didn’t have enough cherries. Since the craving for something unhealthy persisted, I figured it was the perfect time to make the peanut butter smoothie. But that was probably a mistake. Because I was craving sugar and sweets, I disregarded the tablespoon measurement and just plunged a dining spoon in the jar, coming up with at least double, if not more, of what I should have had. I also don’t know if the quark was a good use here – it would have probably been nicer with natural yogurt.

This made for a not-so-pleasant drinking experience, but, to be honest, I’m not sure I would have liked it even if I had used the right amount. It just didn’t have enough depth to the flavour.

My next ‘unhealthy’ smoothie will be what the recipe calls an ‘oatmeal cookie smoothie’, but I don’t know when that’ll be because it involves almonds and almond milk, and at the moment I’m a bit too lazy to work that, haha!


20160819_072506 (2)

Ingredients (1 portion)

1 tbsp peanut butter

150g natural yogurt

100 ml oat milk

0.5 tsp cinnamon


20160819_073059 (2)

My mahoosive peanut butter lump weighed 45g, and with that and quark instead of yogurt, my smoothie came to 378 kcal. I didn’t finish it all though, because it just got too heavy towards the end. Cutting the peanut butter serving in half, you’d reduce it to 252 kcal, which is much more reasonable.

The original recipe also includes banana and chia seeds, but as I’m not a fan of either I left them out. The banana may make it nicer for those of you who do like them.

/t

One thought on “peanut butter smoothie

Leave a Reply

