blueberry mango smoothie

Did you know that Swedish blueberries are not actually blueberries? They’re bilberries. According to Wikipedia, “Bilberries are any of several primarily Eurasian species of low-growing shrubs bearing edible, nearly black berries. Bilberries are distinct from blueberries but closely related to them … In several other European languages its name translates as “blueberry”, and this may cause confusion with the related plants more usually known as “blueberry” in American English. The bilberry is native to Europe including the British Isles, while the blueberry is native to North America.

I didn’t know this until I moved to England and bought farmed blueberries for the first time. I’ve never had farmed blueberries until then (ah, sheltered childhoods lol) and I was shocked this imposter trying to pretend to be my beloved blueberry. First, it’s huge. Second, it has no flavour. Third, it doesn’t make your tongue blue when you eat it. Fourth, it has no colour. Baking with them works ok, but eating them is just boring. So I was walking to my colleagues about ‘real’ (Swedish) blueberries, the kind you pick in the forest that are little black balls of exploding dark blue tastiness. Somehow I ended up on a page that explained that the reason why Swedish forest blueberries and the farmed (American) ones you buy in the supermarket in England were so different were because they’re different species! That explained so much, and it’s now my go-to fact when talking to Swedish people about food and baking and berries.

So being back in Sweden again, I always make sure that if I buy frozen blueberries I always buy the ones that say ‘Swedish’ and not the one that say ‘farmed’. And just look at the colour you get when you do! Almost like the colour of my blackberry smoothies.


20160815_072155 (2)

Ingredients (1 portion)

40g frozen bilberries/blueberries

85g frozen mango

125g quark or natural yogurt

200 ml oat milk


20160815_073323 (2)

I know that many of my smoothie recipes now probably just seem like different variations of each other, but I quite like that. I know I like mango mixed with quark and different berries, and going from strawberries one day to bilberries the next does give quite a large taste variation. Something like bilberries or blackberries overtake the taste more than strawberries as well, so a strawberry and mango smoothie will taste more like mango than a blackberry or bilberry and mango one.

With the above stats this smoothie comes to 261 kcal.

/t

One thought on “blueberry mango smoothie

Leave a Reply

