Frenchie with Ceramic Blue on Peach Pie

I don’t know when the last time I had a French manicure was, but I imagine it was the day I graduated high school. I remember doing acrylics with white tips are one of those Vietnamese nail places and not caring that about half the nail was white – I know better now. Once I started getting regular acrylics I quickly realised that not only did it look worse with white tips than with nail polish, it was also more difficult to maintain.

And along those lines it’s gone. When I’ve had acrylics I haven’t wanted it for the above reasons, and when I’ve had my own nails I haven’t wanted it because I’ve thought I still had ‘too much tip’ and it’s not the easiest thing to do on your own nails. Also, if I’m allowed to admit this, I don’t think I’ve ever really been that much of a fan and I kind of find it a little bit ‘safe’. Like when I was getting married I knew I definitely did not want a French manicure – it felt very done and not very me.

Like I’ve mentioned before, I have lots of pinks in various shades in my nail polish collection. But what I’m missing is a really good, not pink, nude. I have a very opaque beige, but it’s almost too opaque to be able to be passed off as nude. So when I went food shopping over the weekend and saw that they were selling Maybelline polishes quite cheaply I had a look – and found Peach Pie. When I got home and tried it on I realised that it was a lot more transparent than I had expected it to be – and immediately thought it was the perfect Frenchie base. But because I’m not a traditional Frenchie kind of girl, I had to adopt the ever-so-popular pastel tip trend.

So here you have two coats of Peach Pie, with two thin coats of Ceramic Blue and then a top coat.

/t

Leave a Reply

