apple and cinnamon smoothie

As a true Swede I love cinnamon. Cinnamon buns, cinnamon biscuits, cinnamon in my hot chocolate, on my porridge, in my chocolate cake, in my buttercream icing – and now in my smoothie.

I made two (minor) mistakes with this smoothie though. First I got a green apple instead of a red one (I forgot what colour I needed when I was shopping) and second I doubled the cinnamon. I usually go by the principle that adding a little more cinnamon than the recipe calls for is always a good idea. So in this case I added one teaspoon instead of a half, and I could taste that. When I got to the bottom of the smoothie a lot of it had sunk down and it was almost a bit powdery.

The green instead of red apple probably didn’t make much difference, other than the fact that red apples are usually a bit sweeter.


20160805_071614 (2)

Ingredients (1 portion)

1 apple (large, red)

200 ml milk

0.5 tsp cinnamon

50 ml quark or natural yogurt


20160805_072928 (2)

I got a large Granny Smith apple, which came to 212g once cored and sliced, and I used 65g of vanilla flavoured quark. I also, as mentioned, had one full teaspoon of cinnamon instead of half, but setting that fact aside (and counting half a teaspoon) this smoothie with the above amount of apple and quark came to 256 kcal.

/t

One thought on “apple and cinnamon smoothie

Leave a Reply

